The Schengen Visa

The Schengen Visa Scheme is a scheme that enables most non-EEA visitors to obtain just one visa to visit 15 designated countries within the European Economic Area (EEA), for a trip that could last up to 3 months.

Read more about:

Nationals from any of the participating countries (or the UK and Ireland) do not need to apply for a Schengen visa to travel within the Schengen visa countries.

Types of Schengen Visa

  • Airport transit visa – allows you to pass through the transit area of an airport of a Schengen member state but not to visit the country, before flying on to your final destination
  • Transit visa – allows you to pass through one or more Schengen member states on your way to another country outside the Schengen countries
  • Short-stay or travel visa – allows you to visit Schengen member states for up to three months in any six-month period. This is the visa most students will need to apply for if they want to travel within the Schengen countries.